Pages Navigation Menu



Educate • Advocate • Empower

JEA’s Scholastic Press Rights Committee Mission statement:

• To educate school and non-school communities about how the substance and spirit of First Amendment protections support free and journalistically responsible student news media in their role in 21st century learning and civic engagement.

• To advocate for student news media that demonstrate free expression and journalistic responsibility, enhance student decision-making and protect proponents of a free student media in their pursuit of high standards of journalism.

• To empower student journalists to exercise First Amendment rights and responsibilities and engage in ethical decision making through accurate, credible, verifiable and thorough journalism. Student journalists and the communities they serve thus benefit.

jea link

• SPRC Vision statement:

JEA’s Scholastic Press Rights Commission envisions school communities – those who participate in student media and those who do not – who understand and produce free and journalistically responsible student media that demonstrate the strength of our democratic heritage and its future.

• SPRC Values statement:

The Scholastic Press Rights commission values the First Amendment as a pillar of democracy. We commit our efforts to support educators who work with student journalists and help them engage in exemplary journalistic ethics, demonstrate critical thinking and decision-making skills and protect diverse viewpoints as they produce free and responsible news media.

To carry out the various tasks outlined on the commission duties list on a systematic basis, commission members will:

  • Maintain active opposition to censorship and prior review of scholastic media;
  • Keep in close contact with the Student Press Law Center and other organizations concerned with student and adviser freedom of expression;
  • Monitor scholastic media legal and ethical issues, cases, positions and incidents across the country;
  • Keep students, administrators and advisers regularly informed of current legal situations, opinions and trends
  • Assist advisers and students who face censorship issues offering support as needed;
  • Offer educational materials and activities to advisers, administrators and students through a press rights Web page and other multimedia like Facebook Twitter;
  • Recommend policies, positions and actions to JEA, its members and other educational groups on scholastic media law and ethics;
  • Recognize and celebrate student success achieved by practicing free expression
  • Present sessions at conventions, seminars and workshops locally and nationally;
  • Submit articles to professional journals on JEA’s positions on the rights and responsibilities of scholastic media
  • Initiate and maintain channels of information and communication with all educational groups;
  • Support, through actions and words, the free expression rights of all groups.


Committee members:


• Candace Perkins Bowen, MJE

Kent State University

• John Bowen, MJE

Kent State University

• Audrey Wagstaff Cunningham, MJE

Wilmington College (Ohio)

• Vince DeMiero

Mountlake Terrace High School


• Mary Kay Downes MJE

Chantilly High School

Chantilly, VA

• Mitch Eden, MJE

Kirkwood H.S.

• Janet Ewell, MA, MJE

• Carrie Faust, MJE

Smoky Hill High School

Aurora, Colorado


• Megan Fromm

Mesa State University

• Tom Gayda, MJE

North Central High School

• Mark Goodman

Kent State University

• Marina Hendricks

University of Missouri

• Cyndy Hyatt

Conestoga High School

• Lori Keekley

St. Louis Park HS

• Jeff Kocur

Hopkins High School

• Sarah Nichols, MJE

Whitney High School

• Glenn Morehouse Olson

St. Francis High School, St. Francis MN


• Matthew Schott

Francis Howell Central HS

• Kathy Schrier, M.Ed., MJE

Washington Journalism Education Association (WJEA) Executive Director

• Tracy Anne Sena

Convent of the Sacred Heart HS

San Francisco, CA 94115

• Emily Smith

Pittsburg (Kansas) High School

• Randy Swikle



• John Tagliareni

Bergenfield High School (Retired)

• Chris Waugaman, MJE

Prince George High School

Prince George, VA ,

• Stan Zoller

Buffalo Grove, Illinois